Signature Events

These events are open to the public. 

Libin-AHFMR Prize

The Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research (AHFMR) Prize for Excellence in Cardiovascular Research was established in honour of Mr. Alvin Libin for his many contributions to the AHFMR (now Alberta Innovates). This $25,000 prize is awarded to an outstanding international researcher whose work has had a major impact on the understanding, prevention, recognition or treatment of cardiovascular disease. 

Tine Haworth Cardiovascular Research Day

This annual event showcases the work of trainees focusing on cardiovascular research. 

Tine Haworth Cardiovascular Research Day was made possible through the generous support of namesake donor Tine Haworth (1922-2019), a passionate supporter of education. 

This event also features the Dr. E.R. Smith Lectureship in Cardiovascular Research, which was established to honour Dr. Eldon Smith, who served as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine from 1992-1997.  

Learn more

The Beat Goes On Gala

The Beat Goes On Gala is held annually to raise proceeds to support cutting-edge research and care delivery initiatives at the Libin Cardiovascular Institute. 

With the support of its partners, the Libin Cardiovascular Institute, the University of Calgary, Alberta Health Services and the Calgary Health Trust, the gala has raised more than $5.2 million since its inception in 2014.

Featured events