Nomination Form Due March 1st of every year

The Department of Cardiac Sciences and the Libin Cardiovascular Institute is requesting nominations for the annual awards (2022-2023 academic year)

These awards are a way to recognize our various members for outstanding work, contributions and demonstration of AHS, University of Calgary and the Libin Institutes vision and values.

The following 8 awards will be issued. Please see the tables of eligibility and criteria listed below

- Clinician of the Year
- Department of Cardiac Sciences Achievement Award
- Dr. Peter Russell Memorial Award
- LB Mitchell Fellow Research Award
- Libin Researcher of the Year Award
- Todd Anderson Cardiovascular Research Award
- The Hank Duff Mentorship Award

Nomination package should include:

- Nomination Form
- Letter of support from both Primary and Secondary nominator (if a group submission please include all names and signatures)
 - **LB Mitchell Research Award, Libin Researcher of the Year and The Todd Anderson Award can be self-nominated or nominated by on other individual
- A copy of the Candidates CV

Please email all documents in .pdf format to Rebecca McCrimmon Rebecca.mccrimmon@ahs.ca

Nominations will be reviewed and ranked by the Awards Committee in accordance with the awards TOR. Awards will be announced at the Department of Cardiac Sciences and Libin Cardiovascular Institute awards night in June.

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: Nomination packages may be submitted at any time between **January 15**th **and March 1**st. Nomination packages must be received by March 1, 23:59.

LIST OF AWARDS AND CRITERIA:

1) Clinician of the Year

Eligibility	Primary member of the Department of Cardiac Sciences
Criteria	Excellence in patient care, Superlative technical skill, Quality
	Improvement, Innovation in education or research, Positive
	attitude and genuine empathy towards patients and co-workers.
	Outstanding contributions to the Department of Cardiac Sciences,
	and by doing so has represented Alberta Health Services, the
	University of Calgary and the Libin Institute at the highest level
Who can	Any member of the Department of Cardiac Sciences (clinician,
nominate	operations or administration), residents or fellows.

2) Department of Cardiac Sciences Achievement Award

Eligibility	Primary member of the Department of Cardiac Sciences to include but not limited to: Nurses, nurse-practitioners, clinical assistants, Technologists, IT staff, unit clerks, administrative assistants, operational leadership. NOT a physician member of the medical staff.
Criteria	Excellence, innovation, teamwork in activities that improve patient-centered care will be the driving force behind the award. Outstanding contributions to the Department of Cardiac Sciences, and by doing so has represented Alberta Health Services, the University of Calgary and the Libin Institute at the highest level
Who can nominate	Any member of the Department of Cardiac Sciences (clinician, operations or administration), residents or fellows.

3) Dr. Peter Russell Memorial Award

Eligibility	Clinical Cardiology Fellow
Criteria	Exemplifies Dr. Peter Russell's passion for medicine and patients.
Who can	Any member of the Section of Cardiology, residents and fellows
nominate	

4) LB Mitchell Fellowship Award

Eligibility	Department of Cardiac Sciences clinical trainees: Residents and
	Subspecialty Fellows
Criteria	To be distributed to training programs.
	NB: Individuals are only eligible to receive this award once.
Who can	Self-nominated. Residents and Fellows will apply for this award.
nominate	

5) Libin Researcher of the Year

Eligibility	Primary appointment Libin Cardiovascular Institute.
Criteria	Excellence in research productivity or academic innovation will be
	the driving force behind the award.
Who can	Can be self-nominated or by any one member of the Department
nominate	of Cardiac Sciences and/or the Libin Institute.

6) Todd Anderson Cardiovascular Research Award

Eligibility	Primary appointment Libin Cardiovascular Institute.
	Early career researchers (MD and PhD within 10 years of first
	faculty appointment – preference to first 5 years)
Criteria	Evidence of commitment to research in the area of cardiovascular
	health and disease; academic excellence; significance and quality
	of proposed project
Who can	Can be self-nominated or by any one member of the Department
nominate	of Cardiac Sciences and the Libin Institute

7) Henry J Duff Libin Cardiovascular Institute Supervisor of the Year Award

Eligibility	The recipient of the award can be a researcher with a focus within or between any of the research pillars. Nominees of any academic rank are eligible.
Criteria	This award is for a great research supervisor in the Libin Cardiovascular Institute at the University of Calgary.
Who can nominate	The nominations can come from faculty, students and staff of the Libin Cardiovascular Institute. Self-nominations are allowed . The same person cannot win the award within 3 years of previously winning this award.

Department of Cardiac Sciences and LCI Nomination Form

Please submit along with CV (and nomination letter if required)

Nominee's Name	
Nominee's Position/Title	
Nominated For (list award)	
Nominator's Name	
Nominator's Position/Title	
Nominator's Signature/Date	
Nomination Justification:	
The following outline is provid the nominee.	ed to describe key qualities, traits, or characteristics of
 Describe how the nom give specific examples: 	ninee demonstrates excellence in the area of Teamwork ,
L	
2) Describe how the nom Care, give specific exar	ninee demonstrates excellence in the area of Patient mples:

3)	Describe how the nominee demonstrates excellence in the area of Innovations , Education and/or Research , give specific examples:
4)	Describe how the nominee demonstrates excellence in the area of Commitment to Cardiovascular Health and disease and Contributions to the Department and Institute give specific examples:
5)	List outstanding accomplishments, such as awards, letters of appreciation, etc.: