## **Department of Cardiac Sciences**

## Clinician of the Year Award

- 1. **Purpose:** To recognize an individual on a yearly basis who has made outstanding contributions to the Department of Cardiac Sciences, and by doing so has represented Alberta Health Services, the University of Calgary and the Libin CV Institute at the highest level:
- 2. Criteria for the Award The recipient will be a primary member of the Department of Cardiac Sciences. Excellence in patient-centered care will be the driving force behind the award. This goal can be achieved by activity in the delivery of any of the following:
- ★ Excellent individual patient care in the hospital or out-patient environment.
- ☆ Superlative technical or procedural skill and reporting
- ☆ Quality improvement or quality assurance work that improves the overall health care system and encouraging/implementing patient care pathways
- ☆ Innovation in education or research that directly impacts patient care
- ☆ A positive attitude and genuine empathy towards patients and co-workers
- 3. **Term of Appointment** The award will be for one year based on work done in the preceding calendar year. The award will be presented at the annual Department recognition event in June of each year.
- 4. Selection Process A call for nominations and deadlines for applications will be communicated annually through the Department of Cardiac Sciences and the Libin Cardiovascular Institute. The nomination package will consist of a letter of support each from a primary and secondary nominator. A copy of the candidates CV will also need to accompany the application. In May of each year the applications will be reviewed by the selection committee that will consist of:
  - The Department Head (or delegate) Chair
  - The section chiefs of cardiology, cardiac surgery
  - One site chief of cardiology
  - The chief cardiology and cardiac surgery resident

• Two other Department members selected by the chair A voting system will be based on a score from each judge out of 100. The criteria will be awarded as: a) clinical care delivery - 60 points, b) contributions to the Department - 20 points, c) innovation in any domain (teaching, research, quality, program development) – 10 points, d) attitude – 10 points. In addition to total score, the ranking of each candidate by each judge will also be incorporated into the final decision. The committee will reach a consensus based on the objective criteria.

5. Award – The award will be a permanent keep-sake to recognize the significance of the honor. This will be kept within the Department trophy case and contain the names of all winners going forward. A small award will be given to each recipient and presented at the annual Department dinner. Funding for the award will come from Departmental funds or if the award is named, then an endowment from that gift.

Established: June 2019

Todd Anderson

Department Head Cardiac Sciences