Libin-AHFMR Lecture

Recognizing international success in cardiovascular sciences

The Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research (AHFMR) Prize for Excellence in Cardiovascular Research was established in honour of Dr. Alvin Libin for his many contributions to the AHFMR (now Alberta Innovates). 

This $25,000 prize is awarded to an outstanding international researcher whose work has had a major impact on the understanding, prevention, recognition, or treatment of cardiovascular disease. 

Past Winners

2017 Dr. Christine Seidman
2016 Dr. Eric N. Olson
2012 Dr. Eric Topol
2010 Dr. A. John Camm
2008 Dr. Valentin Fuster
2006 Dr. James T. Willerson
2004 Dr. Eugene Braunwald

Save the date Libin-AHFMR lecture

Libin-AHFMR Prize lecture 2019

Dr. Robert Califf, MD, from Duke University served in President Barack Obama's administration and holds numerous appointments. Save the date to hear this cardiologist and researcher's lecture. 

Learn more about Dr. Robert Califf

Harvard scientist, Dr. Christine Seidman, PhD, shared insights into the gene mutations responsible for heart disease at the 2018 Libin-AHFMR Lecture. Read more about Dr. Seidman at the link below. Read more