Leadership and Governance

Meet our Leadership team

Dr. Paul Fedak, Libin Director


Dr. Paul Fedak, MD, PhD
Clinical and Academic head of the Department of Cardiac Sciences



Clinical Director

Dr. Nowell Fine, MD

Robert Rose, Research Director

Research Director

Dr. Robert Rose, PhD

Dr. Jennifer Thompson, PhD

Education Director

Dr. Jennifer Thompson, PhD


Dr. Lisa Petermann, PhD

Operations Director

Dr. Lisa Petermann, PhD

The Strategic Advisory Board defines and guides the vision, strategy and expectations of the Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta. Members are appointed from Alberta Health Services-Calgary Zone, the University of Calgary and the community. In addition to the Chair of the Advisory Board, one member serves as the Chair to the International Experts Advisory Committee and one serves as the Chair of the Community and Partners Advisory Committee.


Dr. Eldon Smith, chair

The Community and Partners Advisory Committee advocates for the Institute's programs and priority needs, informs program development and contributes to realizing the Institute's potential and achieving the highest international standards. The board is made up of local philanthropists and partners from organizations such as the University of Calgary, health regions from across Southern Alberta, the University of Lethbridge, the City of Red Deer, the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Alberta, NWT, and Nunavut and the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology. This committee meets twice a year.


Lisa Petermann

The International Experts Advisory Committee evaluates and provides expert advice that informs and assists the Libin Institute in establishing processes for achieving the highest international standards of education, research and clinical care. Members are international physicians and scientists of world-class caliber who provide expertise and guidance on the progress and development of the Libin Institute.


Dr. George Wyse - Chair

The Research Committee develops, implements, monitors and evaluates the institute's research strategy. Members ensure research activities align with the the priorities outlined in the Strategic Research Plan. The committee makes recommendations to the Libin Executive Committee and is responsible for the following:

  • The development, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of the Libin Cardiovascular Institute research strategy. This includes strategic planning and consulting. 
  • A communication and outreach plan that promotes Libin research activities and accomplishments.

The Research Committee is open to inquiries, contact the board at libin@ucalgary.ca


Dr. Robert Rose, Chair
Research Director, Libin Institute

The Clinical Services Council is a multidisciplinary group of healthcare professionals who meet bi-monthly to discuss the clinical operations of the Department of Cardiac Sciences in the Calgary Zone. 

Dr. Paul Fedak, Chair
Department of Cardiac Sciences Head


The Education Committee develops, implements, monitors and evaluates the institute's education strategy. It ensures educational activities align with the institute’s Strategic Research Plan.


Dr. Jennifer Thompson, PhD, Chair
Director of Education, Libin Institute