Leadership and Governance

Meet our Leadership team

Todd Anderson, Libin Director

Director

Dr. Todd Anderson, MD
Clinical and Academic head of the Department of Cardiac Sciences
todd.anderson@ucalgary.ca

 

 

Anne Gillis, deputy director

Deputy Director

Dr. Anne Gillis, MD
anne.gillis@ucalgary.ca
 

 

Dr. Carlos Morillo

Section Chief Cardiology

Dr. Carlos Morillo
carlos.morillo@ucalgary.ca

Robert Rose, Director of Science Education

Director Science Education

Dr. Robert Rose, PhD
robert.rose@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Imtiaz Ali

Section Chief of Cardiac Surgery

Dr. Imtiaz Ali, MD
imtiaz.ali@ahs.ca 

Dr. Lisa Petermann, PhD

Director of Operations

Dr. Lisa Petermann, PhD
lisa.petermann@ucalgary.ca 

The Strategic Advisory Board defines and guides the vision, strategy and expectations of the Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta. Members are appointed from Alberta Health Services-Calgary Zone, the University of Calgary and the community. In addition to the Chair of the Advisory Board, one member serves as the Chair to the International Experts Advisory Committee and one serves as the Chair of the Community and Partners Advisory Committee.

Contact:

Dr. Eldon Smith, chair
esmith@ucalgary.ca

The Community and Partners Advisory Committee advocates for the Institute's programs and priority needs, informs program development and contributes to realizing the Institute's potential and achieving the highest international standards. The board is made up of local philanthropists and partners from organizations such as the University of Calgary, health regions from across Southern Alberta, the University of Lethbridge, the City of Red Deer, the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Alberta, NWT, and Nunavut and the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology. This committee meets twice a year.

Contact:

Lisa Petermann
lisa.petermann@ucalgary.ca

The International Experts Advisory Committee evaluates and provides expert advice that informs and assists the Libin Institute in establishing processes for achieving the highest international standards of education, research and clinical care. Members are international physicians and scientists of world-class caliber who provide expertise and guidance on the progress and development of the Libin Institute.

Contact:

Dr. George Wyse - Chair
dgwyse@ucalgary.ca
 

A group of multidisciplinary health-care professionals and members that come together to form operations plans for the the institute and ensure they are implemented. Their areas of responsibility include research, education, community awareness and cardiovascular care. 

Contact:

Dr. Todd Anderson, chair
Director, Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta 
tanderson@ucalgary.ca

The Research Committee develops, implements, monitors and evaluates the institute's research strategy. Members ensure research activities align with the the priorities outlined in the Strategic Research Plan. The committee makes recommendations to the Libin Executive Committee and is responsible for the following:

  • The development, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of the Libin Cardiovascular Institute research strategy. This includes strategic planning and consulting. 
  • A communication and outreach plan that promotes Libin research activities and accomplishments.

The Research Committee is open to inquiries, contact the board at libin@ucalgary.ca
 

Contact:

Dr. Anne Gillis, Chair
Deputy Director, Libin Institute
amgillis@ucalgary.ca

The Clinical Services Council is a multidisciplinary group of healthcare professionals who meet bi-monthly to discuss the clinical operations of the Department of Cardiac Sciences in the Calgary Zone. 

Contact
Dr. Todd Anderson, chair
Department of Cardiac Sciences Head
tanderson@ucalgary.ca

 

The Education Committee develops, implements, monitors and evaluates the institute's education strategy. It ensures educational activities align with the institute’s Strategic Research Plan.

Contact:

Dr. Robert Rose, PhD, Chair
Director of Research Education, Libin Institute
robert.rose@ucalgary.ca