University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Faculty of Medicine and Alberta Health Services Institutes

These institutes at the University of Calgary are a joint venture of and partnership between the Faculty of Medicine and Alberta Health Services - Calgary Zone that support and fulfill the vision and mission of the Faculty of Medicine and Alberta Health Services.

Institutes encompass activities in all three areas of education, research and service to society and serve as the umbrella organization for research groups, ensuring high quality research programs span the continuum of bench to bedside. Institutes also contribute to the enhanced delivery of healthcare in a setting of inquiry and education, including the development of networks of care for Alberta Health Services - Calgary Zone and southern Alberta.

Currently there are seven Institutes identified. Institute directors are appointed jointly by the dean of the Faculty of Medicine and the president and CEO of Alberta Health Services.

Hotchkiss Brain Institute

Calvin, Phoebe and Joan Snyder Institute for Chronic Diseases

Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta

Alberta Children's Hospital Research Institute for Child and Maternal Health

Institute for Public Health

McCaig Institute for Bone and Joint Health

Southern Alberta Cancer Research Institute

Connect with Us

Our Partners

Alvin and Mona Libin Foundation

Our Publications